State Contacts

It is at the state level that the growth and institutional success of Safe Routes to School programs is occurring.

As the gatekeepers for federal funds related to the federal Safe Routes to School program and now the Transportation Alternatives Program, the state Departments of Transportation (DOTs) are responsible for disbursing funds to local programs in accordance with state policies and applicable federal laws and guidance. Most states have a coordinator responsible for administering the Safe Routes to School program, or have shifted to having a coordinator of the Transportation Alternatives Program. Safe Routes to School coordinators are listed below, you can find a list of Transportation Alternatives Program coordinators here.

Find out about your state’s progress here.

State Contacts

 

Alabama

Jason Phelps
Alabama DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(334) 353-6446
phelpsj@dot.state.al.us
Website

 

Alaska

Marcheta Moulton
Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(907) 465-8769
marcheta.moulton@alaska.gov
Visit Website

 

Arizona

Mark Henige
TAP Coordinator
(602) 712-8010
mhenige@azdot.gov
Visit website

 

Arkansas

Kim Sanders
Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department SRTS Coordinator
(501) 569-2020
kim.sanders@arkansashighways.com
Visit Website

 

California

April Nitsos
TAP Coordinator
(916) 653-6920
april.nitsos@dot.ca.gov

Teresa McWilliam
TAP Coordinator
(916) 653-6920
teresa.mcwilliam@dot.ca.gov

Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in California.

 

Colorado

Leslie Feuerborn
Colorado DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(303) 757-9088
leslie.feuerborn@state.co.us
Visit Website

 

Connecticut

Patrick Zapatka
Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(860) 594-2153
patrick.zapatka@ct.gov
Visit Website

 

Delaware

Thomas Kneavel
Delaware DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(302) 760-2236
thomas.kneavel@state.de.us
Visit Website

 

District of Columbia

Jim Sebastian
(202) 671-2331
jim.sebastian@dc.gov
Visit Website

Florida

Sarita Taylor
Florida DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(850) 245-1529
sarita.taylor@dot.state.fl.us
Visit Website

 

Georgia

Katelyn Digioia
Georgia DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(404) 635-2834
KDigioia@dot.ga.gov
Visit website

 

Hawaii

Tara Y.I. Lucas
Hawaii DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(808) 692-7696
saferoutestoschool@hawaii.gov

 

Idaho

Kelly DiRocco
IDT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(208) 334-8822
GATeam@itd.idaho.gov
Visit website

 

Illinois

Paul Lorton
SRTS Coordinator
(217) 524-9108
Paul.Lorton@Illinois.gov
Visit website

 

Indiana

Michael Cales
Indiana DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(317) 232-5653
mcales@indot.in.gov
http://saferoutes.in.gov

 

Iowa

Debra Arp
Iowa DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(515) 239-1713
debra.arp@dot.iowa.gov
www.iowadot.gov/saferoutes

 

Kansas

Matt Messina
State Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(785) 296-7448
mmessina@ksdot.org
Visit website

 

Kentucky

Jackie Jones
Kentucky Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(502) 782-4734
jackie.jones@ky.gov
Visit website

 

Louisiana

Shalanda Bibbins
Louisiana DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(504) 234-6261
shalanda.cole@la.gov
Visit Website

 

Maine

Patrick Adams
Bicycle and Pedestrian Program Manager
(207) 624-3311
Patrick.Adams@maine.gov

Alternate contact: saferoutes@maine.gov
Visit Website

 

Maryland

Christy D. Bernal
Assistant Transportation Alternatives Program Coordinator

(410) 545-5659
CBernal@sha.state.md.us
Visit website

 

Massachusetts

Patrick Kelsey
Massachusetts SRTS Coordinator
888-4COMMUTE
patrick.kelsey@dot.state.ma.us
Visit website 

 

Michigan

Katie Johnson
Director of Safe Routes to School
517-908-3830
kjohnson@michiganfitness.org

Bryan Armstrong
SRTS Program Manager
517-335-2636
armstrongb@michigan.gov

Visit Website

 

Minnesota

Dave Cowan
Minnesota DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
651-366-4180 
Dave.Cowan@state.mn.us
Visit Website

 

Mississippi

Cookie Leffler
Mississippi DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(601) 359-1454
cookieleffler@mdot.ms.gov
Visit Website

 

Missouri

Jeff Cremer
Missouri DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
573-526-2440
Jeffrey.Cremer@modot.mo.gov
Visit Website

 

Montana

Michelle Wheat
Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator
(406) 444-9273
miwheat@mt.gov
Visit Website

 

Nebraska

Jeffrey Soula
Urban and Transportation Alternatives Engineer
(402) 479-3562
jeffrey.soula@nebraska.gov
Visit Website

 

Nevada

Cathy Balcon
Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(775) 888-7357
cbalcon@dot.nv.gov
 
 
New Hampshire

John Corrigan
New Hampshire DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(603) 271-1980
jcorrigan@dot.state.nh.us
Visit Website

 

New Jersey

Elise Bremer-Nei
New Jersey DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(609) 530-2765
elise.bremer-nei@dot.state.nj.us 
Visit Website

 

New Mexico

Maggie Moore
New Mexico DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(505) 470-4705
maggie.moore@state.nm.us
Visit Website

 

New York

Lisa Ford
Transportation Alternatives Coordinator
(518) 457-9749
Lisa.Ford@dot.ny.gov
Visit Website

 

North Carolina

Ed Johnson, ASLA, RLA
North Carolina DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(919) 707-2604
erjohnson2@ncdot.gov
Visit Website

 

North Dakota

Pam Wenger
North Dakota DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(701) 328-4787
pwenger@nd.gov
Visit website

 

Ohio

Julie Walcoff
Ohio DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(614) 466-3049
Julie.Walcoff@dot.state.oh.us
Visit Website

 
Oklahoma

Matt VanAuken
Oklahoma DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(405) 522-0990
mvanauken@odot.org
Visit Website

 

Oregon

Heidi Manlove
Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Program Manager
(503) 986-4196
heidi.manlove@odot.state.or.us

Susan Peithman
SRTS Coordinator
(503) 986-4196
susan.peithman@odot.state.or.us

Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in the Pacific Northwest.

 

Pennsylvania

Chris Metka
Transportation Enhancements/Alternatives/Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(717) 787-8065
cmetka@pa.gov
Visit Website

 

Rhode Island

Steve Church
Rhode Island Safe Routes to School Coordinator
steve.church@dot.ri.gov
Visit Website

 

South Carolina

Rodney Oldham, CHES, CPT
South Carolina DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(803) 737-4073
scsaferoutes@scdot.org
Visit Website

 

South Dakota

Marilyn Patterson
South Dakota DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(605) 773-6642
Marilyn.Patterson@state.sd.us
Visit Website

 

Tennessee

Diana Benedict
Tennessee DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(615) 253-2421
Diana.Benedict@tn.gov
Visit Website

 

Texas

Teri Kaplan
Texas TAP Coordinator
(512) 416-3137 
Teri.Kaplan@txdot.gov
Visit Website

 

Utah

Travis Evans
Active Transportation Safety Program Manager
(801) 965-4486
travispevans@utah.gov
Visit Website

 

Vermont

Jon Kaplan
Vermont DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(802) 828-5799
jon.kaplan@state.vt.us
Visit Website

 

Virginia

Robert J. Williams
Virginia DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(804) 371-4868
robertj.williams@vdot.virginia.gov
Visit Website

 

Washington

Charlotte Claybrooke
Washington DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(360) 705-7302
ClaybrC@wsdot.wa.gov
Visit Website

Click here for the National Partnership's work in the Pacific Northwest.

 

West Virginia

Kenneth T. Given
West Virginia DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(304) 558-9292
kenneth.t.given@wv.gov
Visit Website

 

Wisconsin

Tanya Iverson
SRTS Program Manager
(608) 266-3973
tanya2.iverson@dot.wi.gov
Visit Website
 

Wyoming

Mariah Johnson
Wyoming DOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator
(307) 777-3938
mariah.johnson@wyo.gov
Visit Website